SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA UNPAID OVERTIME ATTORNEYS
In Southern California, the experienced overtime attorneys the Law Offices of DesJardins and Panitz can help you recover the unpaid overtime wages you deserve. Contact a Southern California Unpaid Overtime Lawyer today.
SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA UNPAID OVERTIME LAW
California overtime laws are more protective to employees than the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) with regard to unpaid overtime. Non-exempt employees must be paid overtime for hours worked beyond the standard 40-hour workweek, or beyond 8-hours in a day, at a rate of at least 150% of their normal pay rate. Employers who permit or require employees to work overtime are usually required to pay them for the overtime hours worked.
The state of California follows Federal law when it comes to unpaid overtime. A three year statute of limitations applies to back pay recovery. This means that when you file your claim with the Labor Commissioner, only wages in the three years prior to the filing of your claim may be recovered. However, when you file a civil lawsuit through DesJardins & Panitz LLP, you can collect up to four years of back pay because we can add a claim for unfair business practices which serves to extend the statute of limitations.
ARE YOU OWED OVERTIME PAY? CALL ONE OF OUR ATTORNEYS TODAY.
The California Labor Code regulates maximum hours, minimum wage, and overtime pay for employers and workers. The law requires that, unless workers are correctly classified as exempt, they must be paid overtime for any hours beyond the standard 40-hour workweek, or beyond 8-hours per day, at the rate of one and a half times their normal rate of pay.
Determine whether your right to overtime compensation has been denied by your employer, and how you can recover the wages you deserved. Contact the Law Offices of DesJardins & Panitz LLP today.